THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING by Robyn Schneider

null

*with spoilers*

 “I wondered what things became when you no longer needed
them, and I wondered what the future would hold once we’d gotten past
our personal tragedies and proven them ultimately survivable.” 

One thing I learned from this book is that tragedies exist and every tragedy is waiting there for us and often times tragedies are complicated enough that you just got to suck it up. This book tells us about Ezra Faulkner, being the golden boy of their school he thought he got his whole life planned out but that changed when he got into a car accident and traded his tennis rackets to canes after suffering a tremendous injury to his knee. It basically turned his world upside down and wasn’t really expecting to join in a debate team and be sitting with the nerds and losers that his former friends used to laugh about to realize how pathetic and egotistical his former life has been after meeting Cassidy and returning back to his best friend Toby.
I like the author’s style of writing here, it’s witty and at the same time it sound so “emo” but I’m not complaining because Ezra’s life is very “emo”. I was ready for the book to disappoint me since most reviews rated this low but to my surprise I loved reading about tragedies or probably I’m just a masochist of  a reader that I take pleasure in reading about people’s miseries, plus I really love the Twilight references. I still don’t know what to make of it though.
The book really doesn’t sound depressing it’s just that the idea of tragedies compels me, that life is no fairytale and that the hero of the story doesn’t have to bask in glory at the end and that they don’t get to have this happily ever after. We can still choose a different path from the ones we carefully planned long ago and realize that it wasn’t so bad after all and in fact it may be even better although others choose to remain in their miseries. You know what I agree with what Ezra said that life begins after overcoming ones personal tragedies because that’s the time we are able to rethink our lives and replay it in our minds. That’s when learning comes, and we become the person we want to be not just existing but also living..
Life is full of mysteries that is waiting to be unlocked and that it doesn’t matter if the hands we are holding on right now will still be same hands we are holding on in the future. Life is a book, with stories written in comedies, romance and tragedies.

“The truth of it was, I’d been running the wrong experiment my whole
life, and while Cassidy was the first person to realize, she didn’t add
the elements that allowed me to proceed down a different path. She lent a
spark, perhaps, or tendered the flame, but the arson was mine. Oscar
Wilde once said that to live is the rarest thing in the world, because
most people just exist, and that’s all. I don’t know if he’s right, but I
do know that I spend a long time existing, and now, I intend to live.”

 

Rating: 4/5

thoughts?

