ME BEFORE YOU by Jojo Moyes

I just really need a moment to weep and I don’t think chocolates will help either..

I tend to stay away from tragic books because I’m such a softy but evidently I read this. Call me a masochist but I have no regrets even though I’m a sob fest after the epilogue. Damn all the feels! I was practically drowning.
This book touched a sensitive issue that is frowned upon by many, given certain religions and norms. We have to value life as we all say but I agree with what Jojo Moyes is saying that there is no black and white in this one and life is all about making choices and having no regrets. 
“How could you live each day knowing that you were simply whiling away the days until your own death?”

I can’t really argue with that, although at some point I wanted everything to get better. Just like Louisa, I may have undergone the stages of grief but if someone can’t see himself as the same person anymore, to be stuck in that vibrant world inside a body that betrayed him. Would you go on with his endless pain and misery? If it’s the wrong world he’s living in, are you going to take away his choice to end it? 
“The thing about being catapulted into a whole new life–or at least, shoved up so hard against someone else’s life that you might as well have your face pressed against their window–is that it forces you to rethink your idea of who you are. Or how you might seem to other people.”

book cover

Rating: 5/5

One thought on “ME BEFORE YOU by Jojo Moyes

thoughts?

