THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir

cover

Science fiction is one of the book genres I liked least, mainly because everything about science drags me but Andy Weir did a pretty good job of entertaining me with this novel.

The Martian is basically a story about an astronaut named Mark Watney who was left in Mars by his crew thinking that he’s dead.

“I’m stranded on Mars. I have no way to communicate with Hermes or Earth. Everyone thinks I’m dead. I’m in a Hab designed to last thirty-one days. If the oxygenator breaks down, I’ll suffocate. If the water reclaimer breaks down, I’ll die of thirst. If the Hab breaches, I’ll just kind of explode. If none of those things happen, I’ll eventually run out of food and starve to death.
So yeah. I’m fucked.”

no shit

How do you survive Mars for more than a year? It turns out you have to be really smart, an expert in plants and growing them (ugh! I think I’ll have a new way of seeing potatoes from now on)… and has a knack for fixing and making stuff. What are the odds that Mark Watney is handy with all those skills? Bonus points for his sense of humor!

I never thought I’d enjoy reading about chemistry. I hate chemistry and he makes a good teacher by explaining everything he does (Chemical, technical, MATHEMATICAL!!!! Ugh!). He always see to it that readers are on track with what he’s doing.

“I need 1500 calories every day. I have 400 days of food to start off with. So how many calories do I need to generate per day along the entire time period to stay alive for around 1425 days?”

think
hmmm let’s see… Let x be the number …. and …

“I’ll spare you the Math, the answer is about 1100.”

not perfect
SMART ASS!

There’s a lot of technical stuff going on; NASA terms I hardly understood and I would possibly forget them later on. He’s also sassy, a thing I don’t like about him, and he has no filter to the point that it’s insulting. Mars must be getting to him but it’s a minor flaw I’m willing to brush off.

Andy Weir really did a thorough research with this book. If you’re expecting a gut wrenching, hardcore survival story then this book will disappoint you but if you’re craving for Science fiction and survival story with a punch of humor and sass then I would definitely recommend this.

Rating: 4/5

thoughts?

