UNTEACHABLE by Leah Raeder


null

“In the movies, this would have a happy ending. I grow up. I love, I lose, I learn. And I move on. But this is life, and there’s no script. You make it up as you go along. And you don’t pray for a happy ending. You pray for it to never end.”

UNTEACHABLE is the kind of book that I’ve been looking for in the New Adult genre. Something that is provocative yet lyrical and beautifully written. I’m just going to be honest that this novel has mature content; as in there is graphical sex and Taboo relationship but it really did not gross me out or cringed at the sex scenes in fact it was kind of hot.

null

Ok, now guys don’t think of me of such a perv! It’s just that Leah Raeder had written it in such poetic way without repeating stuff over and over again compared to some new adult books I’ve read.

Maise is young and beautiful, she’s 18 years old but dark clouds crowds her youth. She’s pretty much messed up, her mom is a drug dealer, she’s without a father and she jokes about it to be the reason she’s into older men. Her character is flawed yet it felt real, she’s sarcastic yet I love her for it, she’s brave and dangerous, she had a relationship with a man she met at the carnival which turn out to be her 32 year old high school teacher. I know I have to hate Evan, and that I should be disgusted for what he feels about Maise but I didn’t, in fact I like him a lot. His character is fresh among the alpha males and meat-heads I’ve read so far. He’s sweet and I felt his struggle to stay away from her, though I don’t like what I’ve read about his past still I think it’s something that makes the story more compelling… It’s a roller-coaster of emotions coming from them; obsession, confusion, their undeniable attraction and how they are helpless and in love, they know what they’re getting into yet it’s all or nothing.

“The removal of all boundaries, all distractions, leaving us with nothing but each other – scary. What kind of people would we be without secrecy and desperation?”

“No pretensions of goodness, of trying to do the right thing. We’d both wanted to embrace this fucked-up thing between us.”

The forbidden romance of the book is what got me enthralled. I know that this has somewhat become a common trope in the New Adult section where the main characters had a fucked up life but this novel’s student-teacher-relationship felt so raw that it’s like I’m actually part of their secret and it scares me how they’re in a dangerous situation, I wanted to bail out but me and the characters are in this together so I have to see through the end, flipping the pages with anxious anticipation. This book is not about glorifying this Tabooed relationship; you know that in the grand scheme of all things this forbidden romance exists in the real world and there are worst things that are happening. It made me understand what it is like to be in one. I would definitely read more of Leah Raeder’s novels and this book is worth rereading.

Rating: 5/5

thoughts?

