Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Ugh!!! It’s so hard! I’m so dying to read the 4th book of the series. Heir of Fire is such a cliff hanger for me, especially when there’s a rebellion finally brewing against the King, O-M-G! I slept late just to finish the book and when I was done reading, it haunted my sleep and all I was thinking about was Prince Dorian and what will he become!

 

 

Heir of fire was very different from the first two books because it deals with a lot of angst. Here we read each POV’s in a darker and melancholic way. There are dragging parts for me like when I was reading about Manon‘s POV’s, she’s a new character that emerged in this book. I know that’s she’s going to be very vital for the next books but I got bored reading about her. Another character is Aedion, he’s interesting because he’s the King’s General and also Celaena’s cousin and he’s kind of an ass but in a good way. Another Interesting character here is Celaena’s new sadist Fae trainer, Rowan. At first I thought he’s going to be like Chaol when he first met Celaena, difficult and stiff but give it time you are going to love him. I love the relationship forming between him and Celaena here, and that part when they face Maeve was so exciting and beautiful to read it brought me to tears.
I have my moments when I shed tears for the book. I really felt Celaena‘s suffering when everything was taken from her. Here her childhood history was narrated. We also got a glimpse of why Rowan became what he is and when he decided to fight with Celaena to whatever ends despite his blood oath with the Fae Queen, I thought it was such a sweet moment.
“I claim you, Rowan Whitethorn. I don’t care what you say and how much you protest. I claim you as my friend”
I also cried reading about Prince Dorian, although he found a new girl to love, Sorscha. Such a sweet and naive girl but tsk tsk tsk … I was holding myself up not to throw into fits because with each book in the series my Celorian ship is sinking … sinking at the bottom of the sea.
“As for Celaena,” he said again, “you do not have the right to wish she
were not what she is. The only thing you have a right to do is decide
whether you are her enemy or her friend.”
I love Dorian here, especially when he’s embracing the change in him and finally seeing what needs to be done apart from Chaol who still in a daze about whose allegiance is he going to take and which kingdom he would fight till the end so far he was just playing safe in the book but that too changes.
“Chaol kept his sword drawn. “I will not go to Anielle,” he growled.
“And I will not serve you a moment longer. There is one true king in
this room—­there always has been. And he is not sitting on that throne.”
Everything about this book left me in awe. It’s mostly about sacrifices and forming a new kind of relationship, of trust to bring about a new kind of power; Power to change. This book dealt with deeper thoughts and it’s just wonderful!!!

 

Rating: 5/5

[This review was originally posted on my Goodreads account]

One thought on “Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) by Sarah J. Maas

thoughts?

