Forever Night Stand by Ysa Arcangel

Wow, I never expect to cry reading this book. I cried, nope let me rephrase, I sobbed … This story just broke me okay! I just can’t handle tragic stories, I want to read them but my emotions always got in the way and I just can’t get over it. I sobbed in TFIOS, I sobbed in Me Before You, I sobbed in The Bronze Horseman series and The Five Stages of Falling in Love. Pretty much when there’s death/illness involved in any given romance because I am such a strong believer of HEA (happily ever afters)… and damn it I want my happy endings!!!

Brandy and Ivo’s romance started as a one night stand in Italy but then they can’t get enough of each other so they made it official. It’s a pretty happy start right?! Let me make it tragic for you … Brandy has  Alzheimer’s disease and she started losing her memories at a very young age, good thing Ivo is a psychologist so he knows how to deal right?But nah ah, loving someone who is bound to forget you is never easy. Eventually you end up losing them.

“I know I said I’d be okay. Whether I remembered or not, but if there’s one thing in the world worth remembering, it’s how you made me feel loved.”

I love how the book gives readers awareness about Alzheimer’s, what the person is experiencing and how loved ones cope with it. It’s not easy to see that person physically knowing there’s an eraser in their head, memories are wiped and they’re not them anymore. It’s a tragic and beautiful story that tugs every heart strings.

Though I very much commend the story, I can’t help but point out that the writing needed a little polishing, and I would have added another star if the sex was not very explicit, really I think there’s too much sex to my liking. I’m not a prude when it comes to reading smuts but this book would have been better if the sex stayed at least PG 13.  Ysa Arcangel is still growing as a writer and  if she continue to polish her craft, she may as well be the next Nicholas Sparks. I very much recommend this book if you’re in the mood for some tragic stories or simply want a good cry.

Rating: 3/5

A digital copy was given to me by the author, Ysa Arcangel in exchange for an honest review. Click this Link to enter giveaway and get a chance to to win a Forever Night stand ebook and a $10 Amazon gift card.

 

thoughts?

