Fire Falling (Air Awakens #2) by Elise Kova

I really like this sequel, much better than the 1st book. I got over with the fact that the world’s use of the elements as power was very Avatar-ish (LOL). I love where the story is heading and Vhalla Yarl grew from being a library apprentice to a military girl forced to serve the Emperor, a tool to win the war against the North.

And oh my, if you enjoyed the romance in  The Wrath and the Dawn , maybe you’ll like the romance being played here. I just can’t stop swooning over Prince Aldrik, underneath that dark and broody exterior is a soft and loving man. And I like him even more because he knows he’s not good for her, he knows what crown is all about but ah love moves in mysterious ways! Bahahaha I had a major swoon fest I tell you!

“I need her in so many ways, Mother help me,” Aldrik groaned. “I need her as my redemption, I need her kindness, I need her forgiveness, I need her smiles, I need her humanity, I need her ignorance, I need her innocence, and, yes … Mother Sun, yes, I need her as a man.”

I always find the forbidden romance between a commoner and Royalty intriguing even though it had been done a thousand times but I like Elise Kova’s writing, she’s very lyrical when it comes to emotions. You might not want love triangles but yes I’m afraid there’s one in here. Major Daniel was the sweetest and I love him for being there for Vhalla, taking what she can only give him and not pushing her to give meaning to their unconventional relationship *deep sigh*.

Apart from the romance, I like how friendship is valued in this book, someone died ugh I hate it! And because of that the wind walker was being reborn again to toughen her skin. I really like Vhalla, she doesn’t really admit that she’s strong, she doesn’t see herself special, she’s humble but the people that surrounds her find her compelling. This series just got me out of my reading slump. The ending was such a cliff hanger that heightened my anticipation for the next book.

Rating: 4.5/5

One thought on “Fire Falling (Air Awakens #2) by Elise Kova

thoughts?

