A Court of Mist and Fury (A court of thorns and roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

It was all too overwhelming because I didn’t expect it to be this good. The last book was tolerable and it entertained me a bit but this sequel is so much better. It’s a character driven story that made me love and and hate each one of them. I never liked Feyre on ACOTAR, she bored me but in this book, the way she was reborn, it’s like reading a character get passed  her horrors and survived majestically.

“When you spend so long trapped in darkness, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.”

As much as I hate to admit it but I am very disappointed at Tamlin, I never hated him in the last book, I just accepted him for Feyre because maybe they deserve each other that he love her enough to treat her right but his actions in this book really broke my heart.

“The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be a poison.”

And Rhysand? I love him even more!  He had a very redeeming quality in ACOTAR despite siding with that Evil bitch Amarantha but in this book I just fell in love with him. HARD! Underneath the handsome swagger is a man who dreams and carries the weight of the world in his shoulders. That man behind the cunning mask has more compassion in him than most High Lords. I’m glad Rhysand and  Feyre found each other in this book.

“Why does anything cling to something? Maybe they love wherever they’re going so much that it’s worth it. Maybe they’ll keep coming back, until there’s only one star left. Maybe that one star will make the trip forever, out of the hope that someday– if it keeps coming back often enough–another star will find it again.”

As much as I’m in love with Rhysand and Feyre, I hate to admit it but the sex scenes just bothered me. I think Sarah J. Maas is yet to practice writing smut because her graphical scenes ruined it for me. It didn’t match how lovely the story was. I’ve read The FEVER series by Karen Marie Moning and the sex scenes there were done right which complimented the story. I hope Maas can make it hot without making anyone cringe because it will just ruin their reading experience. I love smut when it’s done right.

Another thing, I love how the secondary characters didn’t act as fillers in the story, they’re presence really complimented the main characters and they each shined in this book. I am excited for the third installment. I’m actually both excited and anxious about what’s going to happen.

I’m scared that Maas will sink my Rhysand and Feyre ship because I think I’ll never survive at all. Please please don’t kill my ship!!! Though this book has romance I’m confident to say that it’s more than that so I recommend this to everybody.

Rating: 4.5/5

6 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury (A court of thorns and roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Woah!!! you had me at the “sex scenes!” can’t believe Maas would write something smut, like you mentioned.. must have been an awkward moment to read that scene? Anyway, I love your review, it makes me want to start reading ACOTAR really soon (I distinctly remember from your previous review that you didn’t like Feyre before). Thanks for the teaser quotes too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. her sex scenes are like what I read in NA books, I like smut but this one although they still make you hot it didn’t compliment the book .. I hope you read it soon and see your review ..

      Liked by 1 person

thoughts?

