Smut by Karina Halle

Attention horny readers!!! This book!

fabulous

I don’t normally give 4 stars to New Adult books that I read because most of them are all generic. The same old handsome Alpha males, same old Billionaires with dark pasts, Hot Tattooed guys and piercings and same old insecure/reluctant hot girl. And although this book comes close to those tropes, in fact it’s one of the tropes, I must say  that this book has quite the unique way of writing smut for a change.

Amanda is a student writer, a self confessed nerd which I find so adorable. I really like reading her POV because I think every bookworm can relate to her. And I swear her love for Loki and Tom Hiddleston just made me love her more.

loki

Take me to Asgard Loki!!!

She’s an aspiring High Fantasy writer, quite the lame girl in High School and hates Blake Crawford‘s guts because of his man whore status. This is a double POV and I really didn’t like Blake’s guts too at first but he grew on me. So when she got paired with him in their writing assignment she just went nuts because there’s no way it’s going to go pretty but everything turned out really well and their writing is in perfect sync with each other.

But then things got a little steamy when Blake propositioned Amanda to write “erotica” since sex sells and they needed money and exposure before they carry out writing their own preferred genre.  This is where the fun begins, well not because this proposition will transition their relationship to something more (well that too) but I had a lot of laughs about them coming up with a good pen name and creating a juicy titles and plots to go with.

“And so we spend the next few hours going over potential pen names. By the time he drops me off at my place, my ribs hurt from laughing and we’re acting like the biggest pair of dorks.”

“we’ve whittled it down to Susie Dicksuck, I.M. Hornay, T. Aint Licker, P. Ennis and Mike Hunt.”

I was laughing my ass off until I was seeing rainbows every time they work on their smutty novel and also Fluffy the Tarantula crack me up, oh boy this shit is hilarious! They are very on point about a lot of things. Yes, smutty novels are being judged, like they are below literature but I have to admit that they do make people like me happy whenever I want a break from reading other genres. These novels are guilty pleasure reads I just can’t stay away from. I like that this book tried to defend smut. We need smut! Smut! Smut! Smut!

And the romance part?

“He’s becoming something more to me, something very real but all we’re surrounded by is fiction.”

It was steamy AF, it’s one of those enemies-turned-smut writing-buddies-turned-fuckbuddies-to-lovers kind of read. I would have loved it if didn’t end too soon because I think they just had too much of sex and the romance still lacked a bit. Not the perfect smut to read but it was really fun I tell you! Again I don’t usually rate high when reading them but this book is an exception for me.

I very much recommend this book to Erotica and New Adult fans and readers!!!

SMUT! SMUT! SMUT! LOL^^

Rating: 4/5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Smut by Karina Halle

  1. I enjoyed every bit of details of this book – from their POVs, the setting, funny characters, the writing process (quite educational for me) and of course the SMUT part! And the pacing is fine with me though.. I mean i dont think it ended quite early. It’s a good read!! Thanks for recommending it to me bookworm panda dear!

    Liked by 1 person

thoughts?

