Orange Marmalade by Seok Woo

Chapters: 119
Volumes: 8
Status: Complete
Genre: Comedy, Drama, Romance, School Life, Shoujo, Slice Of Life, Supernatural

Synopsis:
Vampires have evolved and don’t rely on human blood anymore. They now co-exist secretly as normal citizens even though they are still feared and discriminated against by the society. So what happens to a female vampire trying to live a normal school life when she meets the most popular boy in school and accidentally nips his neck?

 

cooltext194744485791371

When I started reading the first 20 chapters, I thought that I’m going to hate it. I just don’t like how Jae-Min the male MC’s misogynistic ways and stalking activities. Seriously he’s such a hypocrite when he hates girls touching and fawning over him but then he does it to Ma-ri. I really hate double standards so I did not swoon over him at all. Probably the main reason why my rating is not that high.

Although the male MC did not win me over, I must admit that I like Ma-Ri‘s character. A modern vampire completely drawn to Jae-Min’s sweet blood. Very Twilighty eh? One thing for sure, I like her better that Bella Swan. Vampires co-exist with humans, they are mostly extinct but they are considered as second class citizens, and even though there’s a treaty they are still feared because they drink blood. However they  have evolved to drinking pigs blood instead, but still they are forced to move from one place to another because of discrimination. As a result,  Ma-ri maintained a distant relationship with any of them to protect herself. But I guess no species can survive alone. we all need to form a bond; a connection to others to be completely happy. I’m glad that Ma-ri was able to gradually open herself more to others.

This supernatural webtoon/manhwa was very realistic in portraying racism and other prejudice. It’s in Vampires nature to drink blood, The difference in food preference should not warrant harassment from humans. Same goes with color, gender, cultural beliefs, religion and sexual orientation. I’m quite happy with how the romance turned out, and the ending was just right, it’s not the happily ever after ending but it felt real.

Rating: 3.5/5

thoughts?

