Captive Prince (Captive Prince #1) by C.S. Pacat


I really gave this book a thought, whether I would like it or not since there’s been a lot of mixed reviews about it. Some loved it and some are just disgusted by the whole idea of the book because it touched certain issues such as abuse, rape and pedophilia which I’m certainly not a fan of but I would like to judge this book base on how I view it as a reader. I was looking at it from a different angle and tried understanding what this author is trying to write. I don’t think that it’s romanticizing slavery but instead the book is trying to show us what’s in slavery and what it means to be a slave, particularly pet slaves that serve in the harem of royalties. It’s long been written in our history, this book is just using it as a plot.

“I tried to tell myself that it was an even greater submission, to become nothing, to have no value, but -I couldn’t – I think it in my nature to submit, as it is not in yours, but I need someone to belong to.”

When Damen, crown prince of Akielos was usurped by his bastard brother Kastor, he was drugged and disguised as a slave and was shipped to Vere, an enemy’s territory. There he met the crown prince Laurent, a face of beauty and innocence with cunning  brutality as his master. I love how their relationship as master and slave developed from hate and disgust to something resembling trust, reluctant allies to a much more bigger game they are going to play.

I like the lyrical quality of the book, it’s a character driven story but alas not so much on world building. Maybe I’ll get to have that in the next volume. This book was published as an M-M romance fantasy however I don’t see the romance developed here but it kinda teases you to read the next volume to see what happens. I liked how this book gripped me, it’s certainly dark. I may have to warn you that it’s not for everyone. If you can’t stomach rape and abuse then I suggest you just stay away.

Rating: 4/5

 

One thought on “Captive Prince (Captive Prince #1) by C.S. Pacat

thoughts?

