It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

I’M IN A GLASS CASE OF EMOTION WHILE I WAS READING THIS. THIS BOOK SHOULD COME WITH A TRIGGER WARNING BECAUSE IT’S PRETTY HEAVY, SOME PEOPLE CAN’T DEAL WITH IT PROPERLY AND I’M ONE OF THEM.


“Naked Truth.” As much as possible I don’t want to spoil a big issue of this book since I myself tried to avoid spoilery reviews to not ruin my reading experience. It’s good to know as little as possible about the content of this book but judging from what happened to me I think readers should be warned that it’s going to be heavy and it’s about an abusive relationship. Reading about the abusive relationship and violence in this book triggered my anxiety so as a fellow  reader I want you to take caution. I think Colleen Hoover had written a powerful novel that everyone must read but  please as much as possible I encourage you to read something light and funny first before you read this.

I can’t simply review this book without dropping spoilers so if you don’t want to be spoiled then I suggest you stop reading right now. ^^

I love that  Colleen Hoover‘s made a book about her mother, I cried so much in this book and after reading the authors notes it made me cry even harder. Ugh!

“No one is exclusively bad, nor is anyone exclusively good. Some are just forced to work harder at suppressing the bad.”

I told a friend of mine about this book and that it involves abuse. She then told me that she witnessed domestic violence right before her eyes and that victims stay with the abuser because of:
A)Laziness-they are too lazy to fight back
B) Security- where would they go? How can they start a new life with less cash
C) Shared Psychosis – there’s the abuser and the enabler

She can’t even sympathize with the victim if that’s the case, but that’s her opinion. Even the main character thought of domestic violence that way. Then I told her that I wish it was easier to choose A B or C because this book is more than what google or any psychological and social research are telling us. It’s so much easier to read the factors and pattern of abuse and know that you can just simply end it. It’s so much easier to witness what goes in an abusive relationship and judge the victim and abuser. It’s so much easier to be an outsider and judge it as you see it but it’s more than what you are just seeing.

“Just because someone hurts you doesn’t mean you can simply stop loving them. It’s not a person’s actions that hurt the most. It’s the love. If there was no love attached to the action, the pain would be a little easier to bear.”

The characters here are so real and honest that I’m actually with the book not reading but experiencing the best and worst in a relationship. It felt like I’m Lily who saved and loved Atlas, her letters to Ellen was so endearing and heartbreaking at the same time. It felt like I’m Lily who met Ryle and fell in love with him too. And because I felt everything she was feeling that I’m floored when everything happened. It was like I’m in a nightmare and I need to wake up.

“Five minutes. That’s all it takes to completely destroy a person.”

I love how Colleen Hoover managed to let every character shine in this book and I love it even more that she didn’t let me hate a character, not even the abuser. This book is pure honesty,  It’s a must read, I recommend it to everyone. I repeat EVERYONE!

Dory and Ellen Degeneres is an important part of this book. So if you love the movie and Ellen then I’m sure you’ll love the book even more …

“just keep swimming”

Rating: 5/5 -Powerful stars!!!

P.S – I Buddy read this book with my friend Claire .. Drop by her blog and see her heartfelt review. Books like these are great to buddy read! 🙂

7 thoughts on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 good review Ms. Bookworm Panda!!! you truly made me want to read this book by Colleen Hoover just to prove that domestic violence is not between the A, B and C. If it’s all about out of pure love… Then I allow myself to be a convert.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Claire .. I’m glad I was able to buddy read this book with .. I’m glad that I had someone to talk while I’m struggling to finish this book ..

      Like

  2. Omg, Henzy! I just read Ate Claire’s review hating her a little for making me tear up again but now I hate you even more for making me cry even harder. Gawd! Your words, your analysis and you relating this with real life scenarios- too much, girl, too much. I couldn’t almost handle it. This review is brilliant just like CoHo.

    “I love how Colleen Hoover managed to let every character shine in this book and I love it even more that she didn’t let me hate a character, not even the abuser. This book is pure honesty, It’s a must read, I recommend it to everyone. I repeat EVERYONE!”

    I couldn’t agree with you more, Henzy. This book is exactly everything you said. It inspired me, ruined me and opened my eyes. I give all my love to Colleen Hoover. RESPECT!<3

    Liked by 1 person

thoughts?

